Watercolor bridal shower cake with cardstock cake topper

DSC_0008-2

For my lab mate’s bridal shower, I was so inspired by the beautiful cakes I’ve seen on instagram I decided to make one of my own. I decided to use the same colors as the theme of the party, pastel pinks and purples.

Using a rich french meringue buttercream and several layers of my favorite white cake recipe, the cake was a hit!

I cut a cake topper using my silhouette cameo and silhouette studio and attached long wooden foodsafe skewers to insert into the cake.

I have another bridal shower coming up soon and I need some good ideas on decorating so please comment below if you have any!

 

 

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Watercolor bridal shower cake with cardstock cake topper

  1. itsabakerslife February 24, 2017 at 5:52 pm Reply

    Hi! I was just wondering how does the French meringue buttercream taste like? What is its texture like? Is it easy to make? I’m a cake decorator myself (I have a cake decor blog), but for some odd reason, I’ve never made this buttercream. I normally stick to Swiss meringue. Would love to know! Thanks!

    Like

    • Scrapaperdoll February 24, 2017 at 6:01 pm Reply

      Hi there, great question! Most people don’t make french buttercream probably because it’s made with partially raw egg yolks and it’s always tinged with a yellow color. The texture is very similar to a swiss meringue buttercream in my opinion and you make it pretty much the same way. The texture is creamy, smooth, fluffy but tastes very very rich. Probably the richest and most delicious buttercream you can make. What I like to do sometimes is use my egg whites to make a swiss meringue to decorate with, and the left over yolks from separating the eggs I use to make a french meringue to fill the cakes. That way I won’t waste my yolks!
      But keep in mind that with french meringue you’ll never get a white buttercream, it will always be yellow so it works well to color it or mix with cocoa powder to make a chocolate buttercream.
      Hope that helps and please let me know if you have other questions!

      Like

Leave a comment